Publishing a flow

When you click Publish, the flow which you have built and is in your canvas, is automatically translated into an app which can be shared or deployed. The Boomi Flow Engine also creates a snapshot of the flow, which becomes the default version of your app.

Publishing a flow generates a Flow URL, which you can share with others. If you subsequently edit or update your flow and publish it again, your end-users will automatically access the updated version of the app via the Flow URL.

  1. Click the Publish icon on the right-hand-side menu.
    screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-10-42-15-am-minishadow
    This opens the Publish Flow dialog box.
  2. Click Publish. You can optionally enter any comments or notes you may have about the version.
    screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-12-16-18-pm-minishadow
  3. The Publish Flow panel is updated with the Flow URL.
    screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-1-22-01-pm-minishadow

Boomi Flow Ninja

What is the difference between Run and Publish?

  • Run: Snapshots the current version of the flow, and runs that version. The URL in the Run dialog contains a Flow Version ID.
  • Publish: Snapshots the current version of the flow, and make that version the default version.

Whenever you run a flow without a Flow Version ID specified, it will use the last published version. You may want to share links that do not contain the Flow Version ID with your end users, so they always have the latest published version of your app.


Check out the glossary for a definition of terms and key concepts that appear in the Boomi Flow website, Drawing Tool, technical documentation, blogs, and marketing communications.

If you need to take a closer look, click on the images to enlarge them. Have a question? Click the Help button on the bottom right-hand corner of this page to ask.

You may also want to see: