Rolling back to a previous flow version

A new flow version gets created every time a flow is published or run. Boomi Flow includes a full versioning capability for flow edits. Think of the flow versions as a ‘release log’, that allows you to easily rollback to a previously ‘released’ version. You can access previous versions of your flow, by clicking the Properties icon on the right-hand-side navigation.

Keep in mind though! When an older version of a flow is re-activated, the design time version of the flow doesn’t change. The Flow platform does not version modeling data, only snapshot data. This means, you can not rollback a flow in the drawing tool.. You can set a previous version of the flow as the ‘default’ version to be used at runtime (i.e. the version that is used when just the Flow ID is given, without a Flow Version ID).

  1. Click the Properties icon in the Flow canvas.

    This opens the Flow properties dialog box.
  2. Open the Advanced options.
  3. Scroll down  till you come to the Versions section, which lists all previous versions of the flow.
  4. Click the check sign under Actions next to the flow version you want to activate.

    This activates the previous version of the flow.
Note: The Flow Version ID stores the unique identifier generated by the Boomi Flow engine for each version of the flow. Every time you change the flow, a new version ID is generated. You can find the Flow Version ID at the bottom of your canvas.

If you need to take a closer look, click on the images to enlarge them. Have a question? Click the Help button on the bottom right-hand corner of this page to ask.

Check out the glossary for a definition of terms and key concepts that appear in the Boomi Flow website, drawing tool, technical documentation, blogs, and marketing communications.